What is ITIL®?

ITIL® is a public framework that guides IT providers on how to align their services with business needs. It consists of five core books:

Service Strategy

Transform IT services from an organizational capability into a strategic asset of the business that is focused on value.

Service Design

Determine the functional requirements for an IT service including its architectures, processes, policies, performance and documentation.

Service Transition

Develop and test IT services before they deployed into production.

Service Operation

Deliver and manage services at agreed levels.

Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

Identify and implement improvements to IT services that support the business.

Where did ITIL® come from?

How many times have you heard this? "Let's not reinvent the wheel." That question was the basis for the creation of ITIL®.

When Margaret Thatcher was prime minster of the United Kingdom, she instructed government IT departments to document best practices. The reason for this was simple. The British government did not think it was getting value for money from its technology.

Consequently, the effort was not a theoretical exercise but a practical one. The basic commandment from the Iron Lady could be paraphrased as, "Document, do not invent." That lead to the first release of ITIL® in 1989.

Who is ITIL® for?

ITIL® is for any IT provider, regardless of size, technology or the industry they support. Whether managing IT in the public or private sector, manufacturing or financial industry, ITIL® is relevant everywhere.

It is for IT directors, management teams as well as individuals. It is also relevant to outsourced suppliers.

What online resources are available for ITIL®?

ITIL® Publication Suite Subscription

This subscription gives you online access to the latest authorative text across all five ITIL® core books. Functionality includes:

  • Dynamic content.
  • History.
  • Easy navigation.
  • Cross-linking between chapters.
  • Bookmarking.
  • Pop-up glossary of terms.

Click here for more information.

ITIL® Live™ Online Subscription

This subscription, powered and created by the official publisher of ITIL®, enables you to put theory into practice by providing:

  • The unique ITIL® Live™ self-assessment maturity model.
  • 26 ITIL® processes, with downloadable diagrams, linked to 148 work instructions and relevant roles.
  • 59 main practice element diagrams.
  • 36 editable, downloadable templates which helps save time.
  • The ITIL® Live™ members forum.
  • Technical white papers.

Click here for more information.

What is the ITIL® course roadmap?

  • Foundation Level

    Entry-level ITIL® certification for individuals or teams.

    There are no prerequisities.

    • 3 DaysEarn 2 ITIL® Credits
      This is an entry-level ITIL certification for IT managers that offers attendees a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle.
  • Expert Level

    Expert-level ITIL® certification for individuals or teams.

    To qualify for this course, earn a total of 17 ITIL® credits at the Foundation and Intermediate levels.